Arvind Kejriwal will take oath on Saturday at 12 noon

By on December 25, 2013

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convener Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as Delhi’s seventh Chief Minister on December 28 at the at the capital’s Ramlila Maidan.

Arvind Kejriwal tweeted “Oath taking ceremony on saturday at 12 noon. I appeal to all delhiites to join. It is not my victory, it is their victory. I am not forming govt, it is the people of delhi who r forming govt. It is ur ceremony. All of u came to Ramlila maidan in Aug 2011. We again assemble at Ramlila maidan. Together, we’ll achieve our dream of corruption free India.”

President Pranab Mukherjee accepted Lt Governor Najeeb Jung’s proposal on the government formation of AAP in the national capital.

The cabinet ministers to take oath along with Kejriwal are Manish Sisodia, Rakhi Birla, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhardwaj, Girish Soni and Satendra Kumar Jain.

The oath ceremony was finalised at a meeting Arvind Kejriwal held with Chief Secretary D M Spolia. AAP leader Kumar Vishwas said: “We have requested the Lt. Governor (Najeeb Jung) that we want to take oath on Dec 28 (Saturday), and he has agreed.”

The AAP has invited Anna Hazare, Santosh Hegde and Kiran Bedi for the swearing in ceremony.

Kejriwal denied having any rift within the party on the issue of cabinet seats. “Binny came to me last evening. He told me he does not want a ministerial berth and that he was here for a mission. Binny said he has conveyed to the media that he was not upset,” said Kejriwal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.